The A to Z Challenge – H for Hadrian’s Wall

HAs a nice break from writing romance, I’m participating in the A to Z Challenge. The information hound I am is really enjoying it too!  For the month of April, I’ll write a post for each letter of the alphabet. This excludes Sundays, but I’ll use those for the Sneak Peek. Follow this link to nearly 2000 other bloggers and authors.
The A to Z Challenge – participating blogs

Today’s Calliope’s Writing Tablet post is brought to you by the letter H — H for Hadrian’s Wall.

Between northern England and Scotland, running east and west for about 74 miles, Hadrian’s Wall marked the most northerly frontier of the Roman Empire. Named for Emperor Hadrian, it was an attempt to establish a defendable border between southern civilized Britain and the unconquered north. Manned by Roman troops and non-Roman citizen units, the barrier kept the barbarians away. These fearsome peoples were also known as the Picts or Caledonians. You might know them as the lowland Scots.

The initial construction took approximately six years, though expansions were made as need presented itself. Like the Great Wall of China, the wall was constructed of the ready materials of the area. Forty-one miles of the wall was built of stone, the rest of turf. Along the way, ditches were dug and ramparts raised, milecastles were added to house soldiers, and turrets were constructed to defend from.

The fall of the Roman Empire in the 5th century ushered in the beginning of the Dark Ages. Large sections of the wall fell to ruin, and the necessity to obsolescence. Over time, portions were scavenged for building materials. This piece of Roman occupation was designated a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1987.

hwallmap

Tomorrow, letter I!
APRIL-2013-CALENDAR-001

Rose Anderson ~ Love Waits in Unexpected Places

I’m here…
Main Blog: http://calliopeswritingtablet.com/

there…

Satellite Blogs:

…and everywhere!

Come say say hi!
Subscribe to my blog for the latest happenings. 🙂

Witchy1&2

3 books by Rose

۞>>>>۞<<<<<۞

The Romance Reviews

About ~RoseAnderson

Rose Anderson is an award-winning author and dilettante. She loves great conversation and delights in discovering interesting things to weave into stories. Rose also writes under the pen name Madeline Archer.
This entry was posted in Past Posts - you'll never know what you'll find and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The A to Z Challenge – H for Hadrian’s Wall

  1. mikey2ct says:

    Another great post! Are you on LinkedIn?

    • Thanks! I signed up for LI two years ago, but the instant I did, it rifled my address book without my permission and got me a world of grief from people who weren’t interested. I haven’t been back since.

      • mikey2ct says:

        This post reminded me of your upcoming vacation in the UK. Congrats on 35 years, by the way.
        My ex and I would have had 43 in June but we never reached 5. I was a single parent raising my boys who are now 38 and 39.

        I have bookmarked some of the Roman roads since I found them online last year in an article on the Yorkshire Post which I now subscribe to since that.

        I also have an online golfing buddy who mate who lives in Orby, Lincolnshire. I have a standing invite to visit but a trip like that would be way more even than the Tribeca gala. LOl

  2. Thanks for the congratulations. I freely admit I just got lucky. I read a very interesting article in National Geographic about 10 or so years ago. In it the writer referred to the native plants practically extinct in Britain, found in the Roman hedgerows.

Leave a comment