Method or Madness?

I really get a kick out of wording. I’ve mentioned how I love a good quote, but colloquialisms tickle me too. Curiously, many of the compact little quips so familiar to our lives have only a handful of sources. I’ve recently read that if it isn’t Biblical, and it isn’t Nautical, then there’s a good chance it’s Shakespearian.

Today, I’ll give you a few examples from Shakespeare. will
Who knew the Bard was so ensconced in our day-to-day conversations?

A foregone conclusion * All of a sudden * As dead as a doornail * As good luck would have it
* As pure as the driven snow * At one fell swoop * Be all and end all * Come what come may
* Eaten out of house and home * Fair play/Foul play * Fight fire with fire * Good riddance
* Heart’s content * High time * Hot-blooded * I have not slept one wink * I will wear my heart upon my sleeve * In a pickle * In stitches * In the twinkling of an eye * Lay it on with a trowel (thick) * Lie low * Love is blind * Make your hair stand on end * Night owl * Out of the jaws of death * Pound of flesh * Rhyme nor reason * Send him packing * Set your teeth on edge
* Smooth runs the water where the brook is deep * Star crossed lovers * Such stuff as dreams are made on * The be all and end all * The Devil incarnate * The game is up * There’s method in my madness * Thereby hangs a tale * This is the short and the long of it * There’s the rub* Too much of a good thing * Truth will out * Up in arms * Vanish into thin air * Wear your heart on your sleeve * Wild goose chase  * Woe is me

Sound familiar? There are a LOT more Shakespearean colloquialisms  out there. This handful seemed to me to be the most common.

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

So you might have noticed my blog has a new look. I tried to create this look when I first made the blog, but for the life of me I had a devil of a time (nautical colloquialism) figuring out WordPress.  In many ways it still frustrates me. My main Muse Calliope would have used her stylus and pressed her words into her clay tablets.  I use my laptop to write my stories and update my blog.

A few months ago, I went searching for a new blog format that would allow me to post easily. I tried a lot of different sites — Blogspot.com, Blog.com, Wix.com, etc, and I have blogs all over the place as a result. Some, I’ll never return to. They’re simply placeholders for me on the web. One I can’t figure out how to get back into to make changes, and absolutely no response though I’ve asked twice for help. It’s just floating out there like the Flying Dutchman.

A curious thing happened by chance n early spring. I had the opportunity to take part in a blog hop that wanted steamier excerpts from the participants. Well, rules are rules and WordPress has rules regarding adult content. After they mistakenly suspended my blog several months back, I wasn’t about to give them a real reason to take it down. The thing is, the mechanics for this blog are so hard to figure out, I haven’t put an Adult Content block on it (Not that any underage person wouldn’t just click to the next page). 

Enter Google’s blogspot.com aka  Blogger. It has a pretty straight-forward settings panel so I created my adult content post there. I found it fluid and easy and once I learned how to make a pretty blog with it, I made several satellite blogs. And just because I can, I’m in three blog hops at once this week sharing excerpts and offering prizes. What’s more, I can chat about Shakespeare here!

Now… how about I find time to write more books…

Come see.

The Hot Summer Nights Hop
http://calliopeswritingtablet.blogspot.com/

The Wet and Wild Blog Hop
http://calliopesotherwritingtablet.blogspot.com/

The Hop Against Homophobia
http://theancillarymuse.blogspot.com

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

6-books

~ Coming Soon ~
TRRSizzlingSummerReadsFinal2

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

About ~RoseAnderson

Rose Anderson is an award-winning author and dilettante. She loves great conversation and delights in discovering interesting things to weave into stories. Rose also writes under the pen name Madeline Archer.
This entry was posted in Past Posts - you'll never know what you'll find and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Method or Madness?

  1. elisecyr says:

    Didn’t realize WordPress was so strict about adult content. That’s good, I guess, that they keep track, but not so good if you write sexytime romance and want to share!

Leave a comment