Thar She Blows

Wordie I am, in the last post I mentioned how colloquialisms tickle me.  Surprisingly, those compact quips so familiar to our day-to-day have only a handful of sources. If it didn’t come Shakespeare, and it’s not a Biblical quip,  then there’s a good chance it has Nautical origins.

Today, I’ll give you a few Nautical examples.

sailorsA shot across the bow * All at sea * Anchors aweigh * Batten down the hatches * Between the Devil and the deep blue sea * Broad in the beam * By and large * Close quarters * Cut and run * Edging forward * Fathom out * Get underway * Give a wide berth * Go by the board * Hand over fist * Hard and fast * High and dry * In the offing * Know the ropes * Loose cannon * On your beam ends * Panic stations * Plain sailing * Push the boat out * Shipshape and Bristol fashion * Shake a leg * Shiver my timbers  (or depending on what Pirate you’re talking to Shiver me timbers)* Slush fund * Taken aback * The bitter end * The cut of your jib * Three sheets to the wind * Tide over * Walk the plank.

Slush fund??

I’m in three blog hops at once this week sharing excerpts and offering prizes. What’s more, using my other blogs for hops means I can chat like a sailor here! Come see.

The Hot Summer Nights Hop
http://calliopeswritingtablet.blogspot.com/

The Wet and Wild Blog Hop
http://calliopesotherwritingtablet.blogspot.com/

The Hop Against Homophobia
http://theancillarymuse.blogspot.com

Now… back to my novel in progress. That should be novel(s). I’ve recently returned to my long standing labor of love — my MO — my as-yet-unnamed magnum opus.

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

Picture1

~ Coming Soon ~
TRRSizzlingSummerReadsFinal2

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

About ~RoseAnderson

Rose Anderson is an award-winning author and dilettante. She loves great conversation and delights in discovering interesting things to weave into stories. Rose also writes under the pen name Madeline Archer.
This entry was posted in Past Posts - you'll never know what you'll find and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment