Think About it Thursday

gearsQuote collector I, I found this today and it has me thinking:

The more powerful and original a mind, the more it will incline towards the religion of solitude.
– Huxley

My first thought was huh? Then I looked up a broader definition of religion.
The World English Dictionary defines religion as:

  • 1. belief in, worship of, or obedience to a supernatural power or powers considered to be divine or to have control of human destiny
  • 2. any formal or institutionalized expression of such belief: the Christian religion
  • 3. the attitude and feeling of one who believes in a transcendent controlling power or powers
  • 4. chiefly RC Church the way of life determined by the vows of poverty, chastity, and obedience entered upon by monks, friars, and nuns: to enter religion
  • 5. something of overwhelming importance to a person: football is his religion 
  • 6. archaic a. the practice of sacred ritual observances b. sacred rites and ceremonies

Is it 1, 3, 5, or 6? I see a little of each when I think about Huxley’s quote. Writers have powerful and original minds. It’s no small feat to pull a world out of the depths of your imagination. I’m wondering if all writers feel this way about solitude. There are times when I am so thoroughly in my head, I have to remember to come out for the people in my life.

Crazy Cat LadyOccasionally I find myself with very little to say in social situations and I don’t know why. I don’t like that either. It’s noticeable. My husband has even commented on this recently. He says he worries about me becoming a “crazy cat lady”. (I don’t own that picture. It belongs to Matt Groening. His cat lady has gone so batty she doesn’t even speak anymore. She blargs. lol Thanks for giving my husband a visual, Matt.)

How do you feel about solitude?

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

100 Things Blogging Challenge002x846q!
For 100 days,
I’m posting a little something from my chosen topic of Words & Quotes of Love. There are 74 entries to come! Here’s one for today:

“Come live in my heart, and pay no rent.”

~ Samuel Lover

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

rb4u
author Bobbye Terry/Daryn Cross’s blog day.
http://romancebooks4us.blogspot.com
And over on the RB4U website http://romancebooks4us.com  find those falling leaves and win all sorts of prizes.

Attention Authors! The RB4U is offering a promo deal: Pay for Oct and Nov and get Dec for FREE. Contact Marianne for details. marianne@romancebooks4us.com.

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

quillsWe’re doing something new on my group blog. Thursdays are all about the genesis of a story. Today’s guest is Helena Fairfax.
http://exquisitequills.blogspot.com/

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

Over on my other satellite blog. I’m hosting Jane Leopold Quinn for the Fall Into Romance Hop.  http://calliopeswritingtablet.blogspot.com/

I’m talking love quotes in the FREE September issue of Hidden Desires Magazine. Get your download today! http://valterramagazines.com/

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

I’m one of 112 authors joining in the Sunset on Summer Fun Blog Hop, and we all have prizes! For the Grand Prize: One winner will receive their choice of a Kindle Fire 7″ HD or NOOK HD. This option is for US contestants only. International winners will receive Paypal Cash to spend how they wish. Scroll down to see my prize and be sure to leave your email in comments. Click on My Novels at the top of this page to see all of my book trailers.
Click Here for Participants

Here’s my prize:
One lucky winner chosen randomly will receive
a Love Waits in Unexpected Places coffee cup,
a collection of Victorian reproduction trinkets,
and chocolate!

hopgifts

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

>>Subscribe to this blog for all the what’s up with Rose news!<<

trrbanner

About ~RoseAnderson

Rose Anderson is an award-winning author and dilettante. She loves great conversation and delights in discovering interesting things to weave into stories. Rose also writes under the pen name Madeline Archer.
This entry was posted in Past Posts - you'll never know what you'll find. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Think About it Thursday

  1. Thought provoking post.

  2. mikey2ct says:

    I subscribe to the “Variety is the Spice of Life” school. I worry sometimes about getting in a rut and then I try to make what I hope is a change, however small. Someone I haven’t called in a while, E.G.

Leave a comment