Ancestor Appreciation Day

It’s Ancestor Appreciation Day!A Family Tree


In 1959, the
October issue of Saturday Evening Post had a cover drawn by artist extraordinaire Norman Rockwell. He did many covers for that magazine. I’ve always loved his detailed work, loved too that he recycled faces. A face might be a shopkeeper in one painting and a child’s doll in the next.

That particular Saturday Evening Post cover featured a symbolic American family tree. Norman’s concept tree had branches sporting a Fur trapper and Plains Indian, a Yankee and Confederate, a ladybird (prostitute) and buccaneer, an outlaw and saloon gal, and more. They all distill down to a cute freckled-face, red-haired, boy, presumably the artist himself. In that entertaining artwork, he shows there’s a complexity to one’s heritage. Mine goes back to the first European footfalls on the new continent on one side of the family, and second generation American on the other. My husband’s goes back to the days of knights on one side and nothing but a dead end with an impassable brick wall on the other.

Genealogy often turns up surprises. My husband has found many on all side of our collective tree. History buff that I am, I know the times in which my ancestors lived. I can so clearly see their struggles to just simply survive. And yet they did. All that I am, I owe to those who came before. I give my thanks. This quote from Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 fits my sentiment perfectly:

“A dwarf on a giant’s shoulders sees the farthest of the two.”

Genealogy Links to get you started.

A wonderful resource.
www.ancestry.com/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tFtVn8q6SR8&feature=share&list=TL60Br7HNvFla90cCKRqmC3D4_8ln22r_4

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

100 Things Blogging Challenge002x846q!
For 100 days,
I’m posting a little something from my chosen topic of Words & Quotes of Love. There are 73 entries to come! Here’s one for today:

“The moment you have in your heart this extraordinary thing called love and feel the depth, the delight, the ecstasy of it, you will discover that for you the world is transformed.”

~ Jiddu Krishnamurti

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

rb4u
author Janice Seagraves’ blog day.
http://romancebooks4us.blogspot.com
And over on the RB4U website http://romancebooks4us.com find those falling leaves and win all sorts of prizes.

Attention Authors! The RB4U is offering a promo deal: Pay for Oct and Nov and get Dec for FREE. Contact Marianne for details. marianne@romancebooks4us.com.

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

Over on my other satellite blog. I’m hosting Jane Leopold Quinn for the Fall Into Romance Hop. http://calliopeswritingtablet.blogspot.com/

I’m talking love quotes in the FREE September issue of Hidden Desires Magazine. Get your download today! http://valterramagazines.com/

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

I’m one of 112 authors joining in the Sunset on Summer Fun Blog Hop, and we all have prizes! For the Grand Prize: One winner will receive their choice of a Kindle Fire 7″ HD or NOOK HD. This option is for US contestants only. International winners will receive Paypal Cash to spend how they wish. Scroll down to see my prize and be sure to leave your email in comments. Click on My Novels at the top of this page to see all of my book trailers.
Click Here for Participants

Here’s my prize:
One lucky winner chosen randomly will receive
a Love Waits in Unexpected Places coffee cup,
a collection of Victorian reproduction trinkets,
and chocolate!

hopgifts

۞>>>>۞<<<<۞>>>>۞<<<<۞

>>Subscribe to this blog for all the what’s up with Rose news!<<

trrbanner

About ~RoseAnderson

Rose Anderson is an award-winning author and dilettante. She loves great conversation and delights in discovering interesting things to weave into stories. Rose also writes under the pen name Madeline Archer.
This entry was posted in Past Posts - you'll never know what you'll find and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Ancestor Appreciation Day

  1. mikey2ct says:

    Great post! I bookmarked ancestry.com 3 years ago. There are many issues involved. One is my paternal grandfather who died in 1960. He was born in Cracow in 1880 and city hall burned down in like 1888.

Leave a comment